Arizona Revised Statutes § 28-1382(A)(1) states an individual can be charged with an Extreme DUI if they drive or are in actual physical control (APC) of a motor vehicle and have alcohol concentration of .150 or greater within two hours of driving.
Extreme DUI in Arizona is a class 1 misdemeanor. A first offense, Extreme DUI can result in a mandatory sentence of at least 30 days jail. Additionally, a first-time extreme DUI offender faces all of the following penalties:
- A fine up to $250,
- An additional assessment of $250,
- Performance of community service or community restitution,
- Completion of an approved alcohol or drug education program,
- A $1,000 assessment to be deposited in the state prison construction and operations fund,
- A $1,000 assessment to be deposited in the public safety equipment fund
- A driver's license suspension of at least 90 days,
- Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for at least one year.
If a person has a prior DUI conviction within the last seven years, the minimum jail time for an Extreme DUI rises from 30 days to 120 days.